• 1

Disability Awareness Week Award Recipients for 2014

This year’s theme “Disability Awareness, achieving full citizenship, in the NWT, through equality, inclusion, accessibility & participation.” focuses on increasing inclusion to all people in all Communities across the NWT. Every year the NWT Disabilities Council presents 4 awards are presented during the Minister’s Tea. Each year nominations are solicited for individuals and organizations that have made a significant contribution to advancing the lives of individuals with disabilities living in the NWT. This year the recipients are;

The Minister Responsible for Persons with Disabilities Award

Alannis McKee

The Canadian Council for Persons with Disabilities (C.C.D.) Award

Esther Braden

The NWT Disabilities Council Award

Laurie McLean

The NWT Human Rights Commission Accessibility Award

Tłı̨chǫ  Government

Awards were presented at the Tree of Peace on June 6th, 2014 during the Minister’s Disability Awareness Tea.